We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you accept and understand our legal notice.


The University of Würzburg – full name, the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg – located in northern Bavaria, dates back to 1402 and is one the oldest universities in Germany. Both the university and its hospital together employ around 10,000 staff, including 425 professors, making them two of the largest employers in the region. The university is included in the U15 group of German universities, which recognizes its status as a research intensive and leading medical institution. Included among the university’s alumni are 14 Nobel laureates, who at some point in their life taught or studied at Würzburg. They include Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen who in 1901 won the Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of X-rays. The department of Technical Physics of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (UWUE) is a technology center for advanced lithography and processing for nanoelectronic and nanophotonic materials and devices. The Würzburg group has more than 30 staff members including students and uses a 550 m2 cleanroom facility for the development of novel nanomaterials, nanofabrication technologies and their application to new devices. UWUE actively participates and participated in several national and international projects with partners, e.g. University of California Berkeley, Stanford University, Tokio University and industrial partners like Infineon and Osram to mention a few.

Contact persons:

Dr. Sven Höfling (ESR10 main supervisor, WP3 leader)